Who is online?
In total there is 1 user online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 1 Guest

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 73 on Sat Apr 07, 2012 6:43 pm
Latest topics
» EDH Regular casual Game
Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:37 am by rock.strongbow

» Places to play EDH in Philly
Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:34 am by rock.strongbow

» Looking to get into Magic
Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:21 pm by Bigc215

» So when can I play someone?
Wed Jun 05, 2013 6:32 pm by nick.martin.144734

» Legacy Needs
Tue May 28, 2013 5:15 pm by Bigc215

» James's No Rare Cube
Fri May 24, 2013 10:29 am by intrinsic

» Yavimaya Hollow
Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:09 am by idTAPthat

» Alumni of "MtG Sunday" Comic Book Theater on Passyunk Ave.
Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:02 am by idTAPthat

» Ravnica foils needed - have dual lands and more to trade
Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:49 am by PatrickR


Questions about my general

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Questions about my general

Post  John.the_walker on Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:40 pm

if my general cost 7 to put out the first time on subsequent turn its two more each time, if another card cast said draws cards equal to the highest converted mana cost would that include my general?
avatar
John.the_walker

Posts : 79
Join date : 2009-07-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions about my general

Post  Uniclonus on Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:02 pm

Sounds like you're asking about Rush of Knowledge and similar cards.
If the general is the permanent with the highest converted mana cost you have, then yeah, he'd be counted. But converted mana cost of a permanent doesn't count additional costs, like the extra 2 each time you cast the general.

Uniclonus

Posts : 447
Join date : 2009-07-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions about my general

Post  MidniteEffort on Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:34 pm

John.the_walker wrote:if my general cost 7 to put out the first time on subsequent turn its two more each time, if another card cast said draws cards equal to the highest converted mana cost would that include my general?

Brandon is right. there was a similar question on Cranial Insertion recently.

Q: So say, I'm playing Commander and I have Uril, the Miststalker as my general. I cast Uril for 5 and he gets killed. Later in the game Dragon Fangs winds up in my graveyard and I cast Uril again for 7, will this trigger Dragon Fangs and cause it to attach itself to Uril?

A: Unfortunately, the converted mana cost of an object never changes, and even Commander's little extra cost rule doesn't change it. Uril will have to wear his Dragon Fangs the old fashioned way.

http://mtgsalvation.com/1260-cranial-insertion-friday-night-before-christmas-magic.html

_________________
contort yourself!

Steve.
avatar
MidniteEffort

Posts : 1122
Join date : 2009-07-13
Age : 33
Location : Oyster Bay, NY

http://www.last.fm/user/GetMilesEnd

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions about my general

Post  Slyphidine on Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:03 pm

What about if it's on the stack? I imagine it's just an additional cost, but is there any chance it works like X spells?

Sincerely,

The guy who is too lazy to look it up.

_________________
Check out my cube here.

Cards left to foil/pimp.
avatar
Slyphidine
Admin

Posts : 1449
Join date : 2009-07-13
Location : Mt Airy

http://www.neonandshy.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions about my general

Post  Uniclonus on Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:37 pm

I'm inclined to believe the extra 2 for each cast is just like any other additional cost for a spell and doesn't affect the CMC. Especially since rulings in Gatherer for Etherium Sculptor and Lodestone Golem note that they don't change the spells CMC.

Uniclonus

Posts : 447
Join date : 2009-07-13

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions about my general

Post  MidniteEffort on Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:15 am

Slyphidine wrote:What about if it's on the stack? I imagine it's just an additional cost, but is there any chance it works like X spells?

202.3b When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack.

903.10. A player may cast a commander he or she owns from the command zone. Doing so costs that player an additional {2} for each previous time he or she cast that commander from the command zone that game.

117.8c Additional costs don’t change a spell’s mana cost, only what its controller has to pay to cast it. Spells and abilities that ask for that spell’s mana cost still see the original value.

sincerely,

a guy who loves looking this shit up.

_________________
contort yourself!

Steve.
avatar
MidniteEffort

Posts : 1122
Join date : 2009-07-13
Age : 33
Location : Oyster Bay, NY

http://www.last.fm/user/GetMilesEnd

Back to top Go down

Re: Questions about my general

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum